Saturday, May 17, 2014

Cong wins B’ngir Assembly seat after 25 yrs Sunday, 18 May 2014 | PNS | BALANGIR | in Bhubaneswar

Cong wins B’ngir Assembly seat after 25 yrs
Sunday, 18 May 2014 | PNS | BALANGIR | in Bhubaneswar
The poll results sprang up a few surprises in Balangir.  as the Assembly seat which was represented continuously by AU Singh Deo of BJD was lost to Congress.
Veteran Narsingha Mishra won the seat defeating Singh Deo by a margin of 12,254 votes. While Mishra got 61,730 votes, Singh Deo got 49,476 votes. Congress won the seat after a gap of almost 25years.“It is a victory of the people of Balangir and I’m committed to the development of Balangir,” said Mishra.A visibly shaken Singh Deo said, “I was away from the constituency for more than a year due to kidney ailment and other health reasons. This is the reason why I remained somewhat cut off from the voters.”
However, Singh Deo’s son Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo, who won the Balangir Parliamentary constituency, had a mixed response on the poll results. “While I won, my father lost. Nonetheless, I would like to thank Naveen Patnaik under whose leadership the election was fought. I would like to thank people of Balangir and Sonepur for reposing faith on me,” said Kalikesh.
Kalikesh won from Bolangir Lok Sabha seat for the second time by defeating BJP’s Sangeeta Singh Deo by a margin of 1,04,299 votes. While Kalikesh got 4,53,519 votes, Sangeeta got 3,49, 220 votes. Sarat Pattnaik of Congress stood third by securing 2, 77,616 votes.“We would sit and analyse what went wrong for my father’s defeat,” said Kalikesh, assuring, “We would work for completion of medical college, lower Suktel, more irrigation projects and infrastructure development of Balangir.”
In Titiligarh, Tukuni Sahu (BJD), wife of slain BJD leader Abhimanyu Sahu, won defeating his nearest Congress rival Surendra Singh Bhoi by a margin of 14,022 votes. In Loisingha, former MLA Jogindra Behera (BJD) won by defeating Pandab Kumbhar by a margin of 22,854 votes. In Patnagarh, KV Singh Deo managed to win the seat by defeating BJD candidate Pakrutidevi by a margin of 13,653 votes. In Kantabanji, Ayub Khan of BJD defeated Santosh Singh Saluja by a margin of 3,868

No comments:

Post a Comment